Aug 18, 2018  
2016-2017 Undergraduate Catalog 
2016-2017 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Nonprofit Management Certificate

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Departments

Johnson State College’s Nonprofit Management Certification program is an innovative course of study that prepares students for careers in the nonprofit sector. To ensure its students’ success, the nonprofit management certification provides leadership opportunities, internships, and financial aid. This program is designed to allow flexibility for the student by allowing the student to meet prescribed competencies in combination with course work and practical experience.

In addition to coursework, the nonprofit management certificate program emphasizes hands-on experience through internships, volunteer opportunities, leadership activities and professional development workshops. The experiences you’ll have as a student in this program will give you an edge in the job market and prepare you to be a successful leader in the nonprofit field upon graduation. The blend of curricular and co-curricular activities focus on a variety of competency areas, including:

  • Nonprofit Management
  • Fundraising and Fiscal Management
  • Human Resource and Volunteer Management
  • Program Planning and Evaluation
  • Public Relations and Marketing
  • Board and Committee Development

Requirements for certification include:

A total of 18 credits is required, six of which may be waived if the student demonstrates achievement in particular competency areas. A minimum of nine (9) credits must be taken through Johnson State College. A student may take no more than six (6) credits in any one area and must have a minimum of a C- in all courses. There are other co-curricular requirements and recommendations.

For more information on Johnson State College’s Nonprofit Certification Program, including how to apply to the program, please contact Professor Todd Comen, in the Business & Econoics Department at 802-635-1209.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Departments